Some Slingshot Series Reviews

 

 

4.0 out of 5 starsGreat Start to New Series

ByChristy M.on August 2, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

I received a copy of Slingshot free for an honest review. All opinions are my own and may differ from yours.

Set in the distant future, Slingshot is a dytopian/sci fi novel in which the United States is no longer ruled by government. Big money and big corporations make all of the major decisions, and though they'd disagree, they are more of a dictatorship than a democracy. If you don't follow the status quo set by the corporations, you'll pay the consequences. You'll no longer have what you need provided for you; you'll be sent off to the place they send those who don't follow mindlessly. Off to danger.

Earth's resources are so far depleted that space exploration has become a necessity rather than an option. And a distant planet might just be the place where people from Earth can settle. It is inhabited by dogs who developed a kind of telepathy from the planet's healing suns and the atmosphere. It's also inhabited by those who crashed from Earth many years before....and another spaceship has just crashed.

I don't want to give away too much, but this really is an interesting read. It keeps you thinking. It sort of reminds me of a Michael Crichton book. The characters are sometimes hard to keep track of and I am not a fan of the way the chapters are titled with timeline data files. It confused me too much. Once I got into the story, I could keep track a little easier. This is the reason I am giving it 4 stars rather than 5. The story is really interesting; the format needs tweaking.

If you are an sci/fi dystopian fan, I think you'd enjoy this one.

5.0 out of 5 stars 

ByAuthor/Reviewer Geri AhearnTop Contributor: CookingVINE VOICEon January 3, 2011

Format: Kindle Edition

Inspired by Dean Koontz, Marc Douglas created an incredible science fiction story with an imagination that sends chills up your spine page-after-page.  This compelling story is woven with the elements that many people live with today in order to survive the trials and tribulations that life throws upon us.   Wonder turns to horror as the ships crash in this electrifying novel, made for the movie screen.  

5.0 out of 5 starsLeaves you wanting MORE-can't wait for the next in this series!

ByMikiHopeon July 9, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

This is the second book I have read and reviewed for this author. The first was Blind Sight.

Earth is a mess and the ruling corporation is trying to get people into space to colonize other planets. Living under corporate rule is horrendous--if you don't agree--you disappear never to be heard from again. Profits are the name of the new game and the larger corporations are always trying to get on top so they can call the shots. What they don't know is that a couple of their spaceships have made it. They all crash landed but some of the people survived. In one of those ships there were a bunch of black labs who thankfully did get let out of their cages and were able to survive.

Because of the difference in the atmospheres these dogs became highly intelligent! They befriended those who were good and stayed away from those who were not. There was already a colony of humans who were living happily when the 3rd spaceship crash landed. Unfortunately not all these people were good and one of them became a dictator making the survivors of that ship miserable.

A lot of what you will read in this book is already happening but I don't want to ruin it for you. It is also the first in a series and the author left me hanging--------I want to know what happens next!!

5.0 out of 5 starsWow! What can I say but wow!

Byreignbough1973on August 6, 2014

Format: Paperback

Disclaimer: I was provided a free ebook version of this novel for purposes of review. All opinions are 100% my own.

Wow! I love reviewing books because it is a great way to broaden my horizons beyond the mainstream published authors. I love Stephen King, Alice Sebold, Jane Austen, and many others but I am so very much enjoying "meeting" newer authors who have great stories to tell. I appreciate a plot that moves smoothly and Slingshot does (in my opinion) with a great plot line and premise. I mean, humans living on another planet, a war for power and control, and great characters that really draw you into their story. What more can I ask for? Can't wait to read more from this author in the future.

5.0 out of 5 starsWebbWeaver Review of SLINGSHOT by Marc Douglas (CK Webb, reviewer)

ByDJ Weaveron July 20, 2011

Format: Unknown Binding

Earth's resources dwindle to nothing and the human population continues to explode at an alarming rate, scientists are forced to look to the stars for an alternate planet to support human life. A long range telescope that uses pinpoint-light to search through the heavens, stumbles upon a planet that mirrors Earth's atmosphere.
In a bold and technologically advanced move, scientists discover and use the `slingshot' method to transport ships carrying humans to the planet for colonization. As two separate ships crash on the planet and are lost to Earth's radars, all on board believe they are alone on this new world. But, soon the two colonies clash in a battle for land, power and life.
A deep, dark and riveting glimpse at what `could' happen. Slingshot takes the reader to a dystopian society and all of its madness and drops them down, right in the center of the action. Marc Douglas has touched on the very worst and the very best parts of us as humans and he has done so with scary accuracy. Slingshot is a well written, rich story with a cast of characters you won't soon forget. Fans of Dean Koontz will devour Slingshot like rare, literary candy!
CK Webb

5.0 out of 5 starsCan't wait for the 2nd book

ByR. Simonson August 10, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

The first thing that drew me to this book was the cover, I absolutely loved the design. Sci-Fi books are rapidly becoming a favourite genre of mine and Slingshot did not disappoint me. I have always wondered what might happen if something happened to Earth, would we be taken to another planet? I let my mind open up to this thought while reading Slingshot but I had never thought dogs would be taken too. The atmospheric change makes the dogs highly intelligent although I think they are far more intelligent that people think anyway.
The plot of this is fantastic, and the twists and turns kept me thoroughly hooked.
A brilliant book that seems to leave the door open for a sequel.

 

5.0 out of 5 starsA great read.

ByJacintaz3on September 1, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

If you are a fan of the likes of Stephen King and Dean Koontz you will love Slingshot. Part one of the series sets up the series. Earth is depleting fast so scientists have to come up with something fast. They find a planet that replicates Earth and sends humans there via Slingshot method two of these crash on the planet and cease to be able to transmit to Earth. When the two crash colonies lay eyes on each other it is chaos, they fight for their lives and the land. Sci-Fi and Dystopia fans will enjoy Slingshot as did I.

 

5.0 out of 5 starsGreat read!

ByCrunchy Momon August 25, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

Slingshot kept my attention throughout, I love a good sci-fi book and this had it all. Moving to other planets due to Earth having practically nothing left.

It was written very well which kept me glued to it. Some things in the book were a little confusing but that did not stop my enjoyment of it.

A great start to a series.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

5.0 out of 5 starsI loved this book

ByTiffany (WithLoveTiff)on August 12, 2014

Format: Paperback

I loved this book. The first thing I saw was tbge front cover and I really like this cover as I love dogs and the space background as it really fits in with the story. The story line was brilliant and I love an adventurous and space book this was a brilliant read and a really good start to a sequel can't wait for book 2.

5.0 out of 5 starsVery enjoyable

ByJon Brockon May 17, 2010

Format: Kindle Edition

I thought this was a great story that had it all - space travel, adventure, suspense and a storyline that comes from a unique angle in todays world of political corruption and strategic advancements. Being an avid lab owner who enjoys a good sci-fi novel the cover pulled me in, and was hooked from the beginning, without spoiling the ending the author does a really nice job laying the foundation for future twists and turns - a truly enjoyable read from an exciting new author - cant wait for the sequel!

5.0 out of 5 starsmysterious and enchanting

ByDariaon August 16, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

This book threw me for a loop, its filled with mysterious enigmatic characters and fascinating recounts of events. I love this genre of fiction and this book was a most pleasant read. I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys mystery novels and spiritual writings.

 

5.0 out of 5 starsUnique

ByCarrieon August 12, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

This is a really intriguing series. It's something a little bit out of the ordinary and I've been reading it aloud to someone who is recovering from surgery and they are highly entertained by it.

 

5.0 out of 5 starsLush and Visual

ByLaura Ron August 15, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

I love the premise of this series, it's really compelling and I could not put it down. This is definitely my favorite genre of literature, and I can't wait for the next book!

 

4.0 out of 5 starsVery mysterious

ByAmazon Customeron August 19, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

This is a easy read and i have to say that the author did a great job! very mysterious .

Thriller Reviews

Blindsight

 

Glenda,verified purchase, Jan 2013

Douglas has an easy writing style that pulls you in without realizing it and I wound up turning the pages faster as I went...ending with a one-word feeling: "Redemption." You'll have to let me know if the word fits for you. Before the ending, however, is lots of criminal action as well as scenes that show individuals, even in the hardest situations, who will still try to do what they feel is right...

Others have compared Douglas to Dean Koontz, but I think it would only relate to his later novels. This book does not fall in the early horror-type stories from Koontz, but rather those that showed that good can come out of strange situations and even from stranger people involved in those situations. The character Joey, especially, turned out to be almost unbelievable and yet, the ending couldn't have been more perfect, in my opinion..

 

August 9, 2012

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Of all the Marc Douglas books I enjoyed this the best. I could not put this book down. the characters kept reappearing keeping the suspense level high. A must read for Marc Douglas fans.

 

ByR. Simonson January 13, 2014

The whole book was complete suspense and at some points thriller, people you thought were dead come back to life and there is a lot of death, rising from the dead. It was thoroughly gripping and by the end I didn't want it to finish.

 

ByshantiTNon January 26, 2014

This book gripped my attention right away, 

 

 

Byreignbough1973on January 27, 2014

 

I felt as though the writing style of the dialogue suited each character based on their living circumstances and education level. I enjoyed it.   

 

BySexy LMon February 13, 2014

I love all the twist and turns that this book have, I really enjoy it a lot. Author Marc Douglas THANK YOU for introducing me to this awesome characters and this amazing book. 

 

 

Soon

 

Five Stars

The surprise ending really blew my mind!

Can love conquer all? Perhaps not, but it can be a deadly enemy to a monster! This is not a slasher movie, although there is similar violence, but Douglas has tempered the violence with a strong counterbalance, a psychopath who is exposed to a family atmosphere where great love resides...

Indeed, Douglas' books do make you think! Soon is horrible, but provocative. Deadly but filled with deep and abiding love and caring... A contradiction that makes for a really great story... And definitely has the feel of Dean Koontz's best-sellers! Do check it out!

GABixlerReviews 

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 starsSoon is a book that grabs you and keeps you ...

February 20, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Soon is a book that grabs you and keeps you till you realized you are on the last page<riveting very enjoyfull reading.

Gabrielle, nurse at CMS  Five Stars

I was unable to put this book down until the end, when I had to rest. Great read!

 

© 2023 by Marketing Inc. Proudly created with Wix.com